First slide

News & Updates


Welcome to my new web page!

It isn't quite perfect yet. The Maps section needs to be sorted---do NOT miss the Maps section. It's eye candy!

Posted: April 14, 2015

Comments: 4 comments

Cream of the Cream

If you haven’t read all of my books (yes, there are still some of you out there, I know) and are wondering which one to try next, I here offer my take on the best of the best. Without question, my most popular series have been: the 4 books of “The Seventh Sword”, the 8 books of “A Man of His Word” plus its sequel, “A Handful of Men”, and the 7 books about “The King’s Blades”. The starter novels are, respectively, The Reluctant Swordsman, Magic Casement, and The Gilded Chain. Happy Reading, yu’all!

Posted: April 1, 2015

Comments: 19 comments

Making Progress

The wheels are turning. My fantasy stand-alone, The Eye of Strife, will be out some time in March. And Irona 700 is definitely scheduled for mid-August. It feel like a long drought since Queen of Stars was published in January 2014.

Posted: April 1, 2015

Comments: 5 comments

Another masterpiece...

eye_of_strife2g...of Cover Art from Jeff Minkevics. I'll leave the quality of the book itself up to your judgment, Reader Friends. The book should be available by the end of this month, and can be pre-ordered now from Five Rivers.

Posted: April 1, 2015

Comments: 5 comments

The Curse Strikes Again

Thanks to a freak accident to the copy-edited MS, the publication date for Irona 700 has been put off again, this time until until August. That’s August 2015, I hope. I started writing this almost six years ago and sent it to my agent two years ago. Patience is a virtue in a writer!

Posted: March 11, 2015

Comments: 7 comments

About Dave Duncan


Originally from Scotland, Dave Duncan has lived all his adult life in Western Canada, having enjoyed a long career as a petroleum geologist before taking up writing. Since discovering that imaginary worlds are more satisfying than the real one, he has published more than fifty novels, mostly in the fantasy genre, but also science fiction, young adult, and historical. Thanks to the arrival of digital publishing, all of his books are now available in e-book and POD formats.

His most successful works have been fantasy series: “The Seventh Sword”, “A Man of His Word” and its sequel, “A Handful of Men”, and seven books about “The King’s Blades”

He and Janet have been married since 1959. They have one son and two daughters, who in turn are responsible for a spinoff series of four grandchildren. Dave now lives in Victoria, BC.

His agent is Richard Curtis at


Dave Duncan Book Titles


View all of Dave Duncan's titles arranged by series. Click on the book covers for more information about individual titles.

Recent Standalone Fantasy

  • Against the Light

    Against the Light

  • The Eye of Strife

    The Eye of Strife

  • ILL Met In The Arena

    ILL Met In The Arena

  • Irona 700

    Irona 700


  • The Runner and the Wizard

    The Runner and the Wizard

  • The Runner and the Saint

    The Runner and the Saint

  • The Runner and the Kelpie

    The Runner and the Kelpie

The Starfolk

  • King of Swords

    King of Swords

  • Queen of Stars

    Queen of Stars

The Seventh Sword

  • The Reluctant Swordsman

    The Reluctant Swordsman

  • The Coming of Wisdom

    The Coming of Wisdom

  • The Destiny of the Sword

    The Destiny of the Sword

  • The Death of Nnanji

    The Death of Nnanji

The Brothers Magnus

  • Speak To The Devil

    Speak To The Devil

  • When the Saints

    When the Saints

Recent Science Fiction

  • Pock‘s World

    Pock‘s World

  • Wildcatter


Follow me on Amazon


To get notified whenever a new book is released on amazon, all you need to do is follow Dave Duncan on amazon.